How to do a bun for thick hair

IMG_4268

I’m not sure if it’s a blessing or a curse, but I have ridiculously thick hair! People say how jealous they are of the thickness of my hair, but I’m sure all the ladies with thick strands can agree how tough it is to manage. Every time I try to do a high ballerina bun it always falls and droops down, so I found this super easy, almost obvious, trick to hold your bun.

IMG_4291

So, the only secret is to tie your hair into a ponytail FIRST. Depending on how high you want the bun depends on your ponytail. Even with a ponytail, my hair still falls a little but you can tie it tighter if you’d like. And I like to add a little crown at the top just so my bun won’t be too perfect.

IMG_4300  

Then I just started wrapping the rest of my hair into a bun shape like this. If you want a really messy bun, don’t wrap the bun in a perfect circular shape.

IMG_4301    IMG_4305

I then secured it with another rubber band and if you have pieces sticking out from your bun, use a bobby pin to hide it. I like my bun a little messy, so I just pulled random strands from the bun.

IMG_4311 IMG_4312

 

The finished look. I added a little headband to emphasize my crown and hold all my annoying baby hair. This bun can be modified into many ways, but I hope it helps for those girls with really thick hair. I’ve been trying to find a way to hold my bun for years, so I’m passing along the tip for those who haven’t figured it out yet. Please comment below if you have other ways to secure your bun or if you would like to see this in a video form instead.

Hope you all have a fabulous hair day!

xoxo

– k.

 

 

One thought on “How to do a bun for thick hair

Love to hear from you...

